An Introduction to the Trustees


The Directors of DoWMAT are:

1.  Hugh Richards
2.  Sean Witheford  (Chair)
3.  Margaret James
4.  Phil Mitchell
5.  Ann Mundy

Hugh Richards is a barrister specialising in town and country planning and environmental law. He works in Birmingham and lives in Kidderminster. Hugh has been actively involved in the educational sector in Worcestershire for the last fifteen years with roles that include:

1996 to date: Local Authority governor at Chaddesley Corbett Endowed Primary School (CCEPS) (a single form entry Voluntary Aided school) including Chair of Governors 2000-2004.
2010 to date: Chairman, Chaddesley Corbett Educational Foundation (a charity owning the land and buildings of CCEPS and other assets valued at £4m) whose objects are to support CCPS and make grants to residents of the parish under 25 in the furtherance of their education.
2009 to 2012: Member of Interim Executive Board of Lickhill Primary School, Stourport. Initially appointed as lay-member by the Secretary of State, but elected Chairman after 6 months by other 3 professional members.
September 2006: invited by Worcestershire County Council to present to Ofsted and the DfE on draft guidance on schools causing concern.
2004-2006: Chairman of Governors, The Marlpool First School (now St Catherine’s CE Primary School). Appointed by Worcestershire County Council as an additional Governor to a school in Special Measures.
2004: Chairman Appointments Panel for headteachers to Church of England primary schools in the Wyre Forest Review
2003-2004: Chairman of Governors, Cliffey House Special School, Hanley Castle. Appointed by Worcestershire County Council to this school which was ‘causing concern’.
2002 to date: Member Worcestershire County Council Independent Appeals Panel (exclusions)
Sean Witheford has a BSC(Hons) in Production and Operations Management. In his working life Sean is the Managing Director of a local company, Jet Plant Hire Limited, that has a turnover of over £12m and 120 employees based out of 2 sites in Evesham and Newton Abbot. Sean is responsible for the strategic development of the company, all commercial and financial aspects, personnel, health and safety, and he oversees the general operations. More information on the company is available at .
Outside of work Sean has lived in South Littleton for over 15 years and has 4 children that have all gone through the village school. Sean sits on the PCC of St Michael's church and until May 2016 was the Chairman of the Parish Council serving circa 8 years. Sean is the Co-Chair of Governors at The Littletons School. Sean also manages the under 16’s football team in the village as well.

Margaret James has worked in education since 1988. She qualified as a Middle School teacher and has mainly worked in this and the primary sector ever since. Her career began as a class teacher and has encompassed roles such as Special Educational Needs Coordinator, Safeguarding Officer, RE Subject Lead, Christian Distinctiveness lead, governor and Assistant Head. Between 2008 and 2011, she worked for South Gloucestershire Local Authority as Advisory Teacher for Religious Education, during which time she worked closely with both church and community schools in the primary and secondary phases. During this time, she also acted as an adviser to the South Gloucestershire SACRE.
Margaret trained to be a SIAMS inspector in 2010 and, soon afterwards, took up the part-time position of SIAMS Manager for the Diocese of Gloucester, whilst also working part-time as Assistant Head at St Mary’s VA Primary School in Thornbury. She was a member of the group which revised the Section 48 Inspection Schedule in 2012-13 and, since then, has worked as a National Society Consultant as a trainer of practising inspectors.
In 2012, she began work for the Diocese of Worcester as SIAMS Manager and a year later was asked to extend that work to incorporate the role of Training Manager. More recently, in 2015, she was asked to take up the positions of National Trainer and Quality Assurance Assessor of New Inspectors and still works in those roles on a consultancy basis.
In June 2016, Margaret was appointed as Worcester Diocesan Director of Education. Margaret has a BSc(Hons) in French, a PGCE and successfully completed NPQH. She is currently halfway through studying for a Doctorate in Education, Christianity and Faith, a five year commitment which is expected to be completed in 2018. Margaret is married and has four grown up children between the ages of 18 and 24. She lives with her husband in the village of Aust, close to the River Severn, in South Gloucestershire.

Phil Mitchell took early retirement from headship in August 2006 in order to become an accredited School Improvement Partner (SIP) and Church School (S48) Inspector.
Phil was Headteacher of Ipsley C.E. Middle School from September 2001 until his retirement in 2006 and has been Chair of Governors at St. Luke’s CE First School, Redditch since 2008.

Ann Mundy qualified as a teacher in 1978 and has worked in three schools, teaching the full range of primary aged children. She has been a school governor, a Deputy Headteacher and was a primary school Headteacher for nine years.
Ann has been a Local Authority mentor for new Headteachers and was an inspector for the Statutory Inspection of Anglican Schools, inspecting regularly in the Diocese of Hereford and the Diocese of Worcester. She was a member of the Herefordshire Safeguarding Children Board for four years and a member of Hereford SACRE for five years.

Ann became Diocesan Deputy Director of Education in the Diocese of Worcester in 2011 and was appointed Worcester Diocesan Director of Education in 2012. Ann has provided professional leadership, advice and guidance to the senior management of 100 places of education within the diocese, liaising with the DfE, Ofsted, the Diocesan Board of Education(DBE), Local Authorities, the National Society, the media, neighbouring dioceses and other agencies to sustain and promote the development of quality schooling locally and nationally.
Ann has extensive experience in all aspects of church school education, and has a passion for the Church’s work in schools and with children and young people. She fully supports the mission of the Church of England and has a thorough understanding of the distinctive nature of Church of England schools and academies.  
Ann was a member of the National Society working group which produced Working Together, The Future of Rural Church of England Schools in October 2014 and is a Trustee for the Dudley Church of England Schools Foundation.
Ann is active and experienced in working within the changing landscape of education, including recent legislation relating to academies and free schools,informing and guiding the Diocesan Board of Education as it develops its vision for the future, providing professional leadership, advice and guidance in the understanding of educational issues and in all aspects of strategic planning, vision, policy formation and implementation.

The Directors of the Trust Board declare the following Interests:

Mr Phil Mitchell
Membership of Moons Moat Conservation Group

Mr Hugh Richards
Barrister and Director of No5 Chambers Ltd. He is Chair of Chaddesley Corbett Educational Foundation
Membership of the Planning and Environment Bar Association, the National Infrastructure Planning Association and the Diocesan Synod(Worcester) and DBF.

Mr Sean Witheford
Co-Chair of Governors at The Littletons School since November 2015 and has been a governor since 2010.
Managing Director of Jet Plant Hire Ltd.
Committee Member of the Association of Planning Contractors and Vice Chair of Offenham Cricket Club.
Sister-in-law is employed as a TA at The Littletons School

Mrs Margaret James

Diocesan Director of Education for Worcestershire Diocese